Foodie Friday: My Love Affair with Take 5

2 Nov

** This post is a little late today – I was out this morning doing what I do during the day – real estate! **

In keeping with Halloween this week, Foodie Friday is all about my beloved Take 5.  No, not that silly boy band (NKOTB 4 Life here!!), but the candy bar.  It’s the best.  My hands down favorite.  Even the Halloween candy that I purchased to hand out to the neighborhood kids was a mixed bag which included Take 5, which I promptly removed from the candy bucket and kept for safe keeping.

Let’s discuss why I love the Take 5 so.  First of all, it has 5 layers of goodness (hence the name).  It combines peanuts, peanut butter, caramel, and PRETZELS (yes, you read that right) and is covered in milk chocolate.  Salty and sweet?  Yes ma’am!  It was love at first bite.  You can’t go wrong with chocolate and pretzels, you just can’t.  Throw in caramel and peanut butter?  Good night.

Now, let’s move on to one night that changed my life forever.  It was a warm evening.  My boyfriend at the time (now husband) and I stopped at a Wawa (Google it up non-Pennsylvanian readers) for some gas.  I was looking for something sweet to eat and he was kind enough to get me something while he ran inside.  He returned with… wait for it… a Take 5 ICE CREAM BAR.  Mind. Blown.  They went and threw ice cream into the mix.  I think that was the night that I knew I was going to marry my him, supplying me with such a supreme find without even asking me what I wanted!  He’s rad like that.

So, with Pinterest among us and the fact that they’ll give anyone a blog these days (I can’t believe I can write about this stuff and I have people who actually read it!  Thank you kind followers!!), there are some ridiculous home made concoctions that I have found while searching for recipes or things involving Take 5.  I have shared them below.

Homemade Take 5 Bars – courtesy of Group Recipes

Take 5 Cookies – courtesy of Cookie Madness

Take 5 Pie – courtesy of the Cooking Channel

 

What is your favorite candy?  Leave me a comment below!

Have a Sweet Friday,
Lauri

One Response to “Foodie Friday: My Love Affair with Take 5”

  1. Kathy November 2, 2012 at 8:42 pm #

    You are probably not going to believe this but I never heard of the Take 5 until last Friday when Kevin pulled one out of the freezer! I have still yet to try one but plan to before the bag of frozen goodness is gone. How did I never know they existed??

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers

