Foodie Friday: What Can I Do With This?

9 Nov

I purchased this butternut squash, now what do I do with it?  Below are some recipes that look interesting, but since I have no experience with this vegetable (other than pre-made butternut squash soup), I’m a little hesitant to try them.  I’ll pick one and do a follow up with my results!

BUTTERNUT SQUASH BISQUE
Ok, this seems easy enough, and it is soup season in Southeastern PA!

BAKED BUTTERNUT SQUASH FRIES
I do love a sweet potato fry, I wonder if it tastes similar?

BUTTERNUT SQUASH FALAFEL
This sounds awesome!  It may be too adventurous for me at the moment, but it is definitely a contender.

BUTTERNUT SQUASH CAKES
Yessum, these looks ridiculous.

I’m not quite sure what I am going to do with it yet.  Most likely try the bisque, that way I can mess up and just puree the sucker and no one will know the difference.  I hope.

Happy Friday!
Lauri

6 Responses to “Foodie Friday: What Can I Do With This?”

  1. Kathy November 9, 2012 at 7:17 pm #

    Hey Lauri!

    I make a really good butternut squash pasta!! It’s on my food board on pinterest! Give it a try! We loved it!

    A. Kathy

    • lauripruyn November 9, 2012 at 7:20 pm #

      Hi Aunt Kath! I’ll have to look that one up. Will only 1 squash work or do I need more?

  2. Jenn O'Donnell November 9, 2012 at 8:22 pm #

    If you’ve never cooked butternut squash before, make it easy. Slice in half long ways, scoop out seeds, put a little butter/salt/pepper in the hollow, and bake.

    • lauripruyn November 9, 2012 at 9:10 pm #

      Thanks Jenn!! We’re doing home made cheesesteaks tonight for dinner and I may try the fries recipe. I’ll let you know how they turn out!

  3. trixfred30 November 9, 2012 at 10:41 pm #

    Stuff that sucker with beef and roast it?

    • lauripruyn November 9, 2012 at 11:32 pm #

      Hmmm, maybe next time. We do a good stuffed zucchini – I wonder if that recipe would transfer well to the squash? Thanks for reading!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

